If you want to be able to retrieve old versions of the module, you must move each file in the directory with the CVS commands. See section The Normal way to Rename. The old, empty directory will remain inside the repository, but it will not appear in your workspace when you check out the module in the future.
If you really want to rename or delete a directory, you can do it like this:
$ cd $CVSROOT/module $ mv old-dir new-dir
If someone had a working copy of the module the CVS commands will cease to work for him, until he removes the directory that disappeared inside the repository.
It is almost always better to move the files in the directory instead of moving the directory. If you move the directory you are unlikely to be able to retrieve old releases correctly, since they probably depend on the name of the directories.
Go to the first, previous, next, last section, table of contents.